Legal Status

Savannah Cat Legal Status MIIt is of crucial importance that before you purchase a savannah cat you must check if your state has laws that restrict or ban ownership of savannahs.

Do not take the word of someone who is eager to sell you a Savannah cat, always check yourself what your state of residence allows.

There are currently 18 states that have partial or complete restrictions/bans on savannah cats.

States with restrictions/bans on savannah cats

  • Alaska
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Nebraska (only banned in Las Vegas)
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • Oregon
  • Rhode Island
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Washington

You can find out more detailed information and any changes/updates of this information at Hybrid Law.